Registered Trainee Appraiser Course (Schedule)
A registered trainee is an appraiser who must perform his or her appraisal services under the direct supervision of a certified appraiser. To become a registered trainee, an applicant must satisfactorily complete at least 100 classroom hours of appraisal qualifying education (QE). The following courses satisfy the 100-hour requirement.
- QE 101 - Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours)
- QE 102 - Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours)
- QE 104 - 15-Hour National USPAP Course (15 hours)
- QE 105 - Florida Appraisal Laws and Rules, and Roles and Responsibilities
of Supervisors and Trainees (10 hours)
- QE 203 - Residential Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours)
QE 101 - Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours) $295
This course covers real property concepts and characteristics, legal considerations, influences on real estate values, real estate finance, types of value, economic principles, overview of real estate markets and analysis, and ethics.
QE 102 - Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours) $295
This course covers valuation procedures, overview of the three approaches to value, property description, residential applications, commercial applications, residential construction and home inspection, and appraisal math.
QE 104 - 15-Hour National USPAP Course (15 hours) $245
The purpose of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) is to promote and maintain a high level of public trust in appraisal practice by establishing requirements for appraisers. The course covers the ethics rule, the competency rule, the standard for development of a real property appraisal, the standard for reporting a real property appraisal, and the standard for the development and reporting an appraisal review. The course is taught by an AQB-certified USPAP instructor.
QE 105 - Florida Appraisal Law and Rules, and Roles and Rules of Supervisor and Trainee Appraisers (10 hours) $195
This course covers Real Estate Appraisal License Law (Chapter 475, Part II, FS) and the rules of the Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board, including specific violations of Appraisal License Law. Special emphasis is placed on roles and the rules regulating the supervisor and trainee appraisers.
NOTE: For registered trainees, this course must be taken in conjunction QE 203.
QE 203 - Residential Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours) $245
This course covers basic concepts of land and value, data collection and analysis, site valuation, reasons for separate site valuation, the cost approach to appraisal, calculating costs, figuring depreciation, and final cost approach analysis.
Total Cost Individually (100 hours) $1,275
Package Price (100 hours) $945
Summary of Requirements (Registered Trainee)
- Appraisal education - successfully complete 100 hours of appraisal education (pass the end-of-course exam for each of the above courses)
- College education - none required
- Appraisal experience - none required
- State examination - none required
- Application for issuance of license - myfloridalicense.com
- NOTE: A person can remain in the registered trainee status for an indefinite period of time (there is no time limit)
The tuition may be paid by cash, check, VISA®, MasterCard®, or Discover® Card.
Advanced registration and a full payment is required
to reserve a seat.